Diary of a Bridesmaid: The Side Effects

This year I will be a first time bridesmaid for one of my best friends. Seeing as I’ve never done this before, I am not jaded yet and am actually genuinely excited to participate. I still have about 11 months until my friend’s wedding and already I have been experiencing some unavoidable side effects from being a bridesmaid.

1. I am planning my wedding. Not outwardly in a crazy Pinterest board (yet) but in my head. I am making clear notes on things I like that she is doing and things that I would tweak. The fact that I am not in a serious relationship doesn’t seem to bother me at all.

2. When I speak to my friend, we only talk about her wedding. This is not her being obnoxious and obsessed. Frankly, I want to talk about it too. I want to know what’s going on, what’s being planned, what progress has been made. I am an excellent audience for all things wedding.

3. I am on a diet. The bride is the queen and she’s going to look HOT. However, I will be in some of these pictures and I want to look nice too. Not to mention, I’m bound to bump into people I haven’t seen in a while ::cough cough:: my ex ::cough cough:: so it doesn’t hurt to look good for those people as well.

4. I am a pinaholic. I was always a little obsessed with Pinterest, but I have gone into overdrive now. I want to find all the coolest drinks and bachelorette games and DIY bridal gifts I can find. Whether I make them is another story… but I have tons of inspiration!

The wedding is still practically a year away. I’m sure I’ll come down with more side effects as the bride gets deeper in to planning… and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

