An Open Letter to Veronica Roth

Dear Veronica Roth, 

Tomorrow, Allegiant will automatically be delivered to my kindle. I’ve literally been counting the days. Although your books are geared towards “young adults”, as a 24 year old professional I found myself sucked into the marvelous dystopia you have created. Tris and Four are perfectly visualized in my brain. I can picture them so clearly jumping on trains, dressed head to toe in black, covered in meaningful ink.

When I first started reading Divergent, I was skeptical. I have the biggest girl crush on Katniss and I couldn’t imagine your female lead being half ass badass. I was wrong. In a world where you are expected to be one way and one way only, Tris breaks all boundaries. 

I’m anxious to read the next and final chapter in your trilogy. But I’m scared I will be disappointed. There is a lot of hype around this book. Please don’t make me regret my excitement. 

I hope the land outside the walls resembles the one we live in now – a bit tattered and a shitshow…but also beautiful. I hope you don’t try to introduce another man or woman into the Tris/Four relationship. I’m sick of the love triangle shit that so many authors have played upon. I hope you don’t kill off everyone. Insurgent was so sad at times. I can’t take any more death.

If you do this book right, I promise to be your biggest advocate. Don’t fuck this up, okay? Thanks.

xox, S Donk

Leave a Reply

