Why Do Only The Good Die Young

In high school you typically begin the process of “finding yourself.” It’s where you’re supposed to figure out who you are and where you fit in. If you’re lucky, you may even meet the people who will shape your life, become your best friends and even your family. 

That’s not what happened for me. Most of the “finding myself” part of life happened in college. That’s where I really found my stride, made my lasting friends, felt comfortable being myself, etc.

High school for me was more of what I’ll call a “pre-discovery.” I was that person who never fit into one group. I had friends from lots of different groups but you wouldn’t necessarily think to invite me out on the weekends (since we’re not that kind of friends). I liked to call it being a floater.

While not ideal for choosing lunch tables (SO MUCH ANXIETY!), it was good in the sense that I got to meet a lot of great people. Individuals – not a clique – really defined my high school experience.

One of my “people” from high school recently passed away. It’s been about a year since we spoke and even longer since we’ve actually seen each other. Regardless, I’m flooded with memories of how awesome it was to have him in my life. The boy who cheered the loudest when I nervously gave my speech for class treasurer. The kid I could call after school to hangout with (before texting was a thing). And of course the insane bear hugs he would give as you passed him in the hall.

I kind of knew we would never see each other after graduation… How would we? We didn’t have any of the same friends, we had different plans for our future. However, I was really looking forward to one of those hugs at our 10 year reunion.

This isn’t meant to be a cautionary tale about how you should always make time and see those people in your life who you don’t talk to. People grow up and grow apart all the time and that’s okay. It’s really more of a reminder to check up on the important people from your past.

Check in. Be nostalgic. Have that “remember when conversation. You’ll say you will meet for drinks one day… You probably won’t. But don’t lose touch.

image

Originally posted on Medium.

Leave a Reply

