Tales From Online Dating: OKCreeper

Hi. My name is Cara, and I’ve tried online dating. After much peer pressure and growing curiosity, I finally made an OKCupid profile. For those of you who don’t know, OKCupid is a free online dating site popular with people in their 20’s. After 2 weeks on the site, the jury is still out on whether online dating is awesome or awful. While I do enjoy the prospect of potentially meeting a really cool guy, I think I enjoy the creepy messages even more.

 

For every seemingly normal guy you meet, there are about 8 others who are straight up creepers. My fascination with the site really lies in the messages these crazy guys send. Do these things actually work on women?! Here are some of my favorites below and something tells me that this will be a recurring blog post because there are no short of creepers on OKCupid (I’ve erased the names of the profiles to protect the privacy of the creepers):

Screen shot 2013-01-13 at 3.26.30 PM

Thank you for reading my profile and noticing I like Guster. However, I do not appreciate the extremely awkward overshare and the fact that you completely change the subject as if I wouldn’t notice?

Screen shot 2013-01-13 at 3.26.51 PM
At least you are self aware. For the record I was planning to delete right after reading the cheesy pick up line. The creepy fetish was just the icing on the cake.
Screen shot 2013-01-13 at 3.27.10 PM
Why thank you sir! I’m happy I meet all your criteria… being a Jew. Please don’t talk about my family. I don’t even know you.
Screen shot 2013-01-13 at 3.27.37 PM
Not that!
Screen shot 2013-01-13 at 3.28.37 PM
Thanks for assuming I’m racist. Please know that I am not messaging you back because you called me baby, not because you are black.
Have you done online dating? Any funny stories to share?
Leave a Reply

