Movie Review: Django Unchained

This week I saw Quentin Tarantino‘s new movie, Django Unchained. I didn’t know much about the film other than Leonardo DiCaprio was in it (which means it is likely going to be amazing) so I decided to give it a chance. Overall, I wasn’t disappointed. Like any true Tarantino movie, it was bloody, it made you uncomfortable, and there was an interesting story. Spoilers below so STOP READING if you want to see this movie!

The movie is set pre-Civil War America. Essentially, Christoph Waltz is a bounty hunter and he buys Django, a slave played by Jamie Foxx, to help him find a couple criminals. Turns out Waltz’s character is a good guy and after working with Foxx for a while, agrees to help him save his slave wife.

There was a lot of controversy around the film for using the N-word and being really racist. And it was. However, the movie is set in a time where slavery was legal so obviously it is going to be a little racist. Similar to Inglorious Basterds, the oppressed come out on top so really there should be no complaints.

The movie was very bloody and gory. When Tarantino kills off a character, he likes to show you every ounce of blood in their body. You also got to see some pretty gross whipping and even a man being eaten alive by wild dogs. I can’t say that was my favorite part…

I will say that the acting was great. Such an all star cast. It was also nice for Tarantino to give Waltz a chance to be the good guy rather than being a big old Nazi. I hope that Leo gets the same saving grace in the next film since he played a really terrible slaver.

The story was a little disjointed. We had to learn about the characters a little bit before we got to the real plot so I will admit that I was confused as to where the movie was going. However, once we got to the real point of saving Django’s wife, it all started to come together.

All in all I recommend going to see this movie. I was on the edge of my seat for almost the whole film and even though I felt a bit queasy at times I really loved the ending!

Are you planning on seeing Django Unchained? Let me know what you think below!

Leave a Reply

