An Ode To Tom Hanks

Disclaimer: Things are about to get weird.

I love this man. He has brought so much joy to my life. He is consistently good in everything. He can do comedy, drama, animation, parody, etc. My love for Tom extends irrationally. For example, I love everything Colin Hanks is in (even though he’s not a very good actor) just because he is Tom’s son. I saw Larry Crowne even though it was painfully obvious that it wasn’t going to be a good movie. I read The Da Vinci Code because he stars in it! The man is planning on playing Walt Disney! Only a true genius loved by all can pull that off.

Before this gets weird (oops… too late) I am going to highlight some of my favorite Tom moments so we can relive them together.

Toy Story 1-3
You can’t see his face but if you close your eyes you can picture him walking around Andy’s room bossing around all the other toys. These movies are nothing short of epic and Tom leads the way.

Toddlers and Tiaras with Tom Hanks
Instead of trying to explain it, I figured you can just see for yourself…

That Thing You Do
Dooo. Do that thing you dooo. I want to sing that to Tom. You do that thing Tom! Keep making awesome movies! Keep up with Playtone!

Big
I think FAO Schwartz should thank Tom for all that he has done for them. He put them on the map! Okay they may have been slightly popular before them but cmon! This scene goes down in history!

You’ve Got Mail
He made Internet dating cool! F-O-X.

A League of Their Own
Thank goodness TBS appreciates Tom Hanks as much as I do because I get to watch this movie all the time thanks to them.

Forrest Gump
A movie that defines a generation! I would argue that if you asked 10 people what their favorite movies are, half of them would include Forrest Gump on the list.

I think I need to stop myself now before I get carried away. In fact, there may be a “Part 2” to this blog coming soon because I have so many more things to say about this man.

Leave a Reply

