How The Dating Game Has Changed

Okay so I’ve been out of the dating game a while. Lots has changed since 2005. Some for the better, some not so much but overall it’s a whole new ballgame! For many of you I may be stating the obvious but for others who haven’t been on a date since high school, this may be useful for you! (Just me? Okay.)

Talking on the phone for hours. 
Texting has taken over. Why would anyone call you to chat? They can just text or GChat or Facebook you. Call me old fashioned but I like a late night phone session.

Not living with your parents.
This certainly changes things. No longer are the days when you have to kiss with your eyes open and listen really closely for nearby footsteps. Hello freedom!

Has he called yet?
So this hasn’t actually changed that much. Now you just have 100 places to check. Did I get a text? Tweet? Facebook chat? Smoke signal? Seriously ladies. Put your phone down. Walk away.

Did you guys hookup?
This does not mean “did you guys makeout?” In fact, now the term is quite ambiguous and can mean LOTS of things. Still not quite sure how to interpret this but I guess it comes with time…

The Weekday Rule
Did you know that you can’t have a first date on a weekend? Apparently it’s too much pressure. That’s why you start out with weekday dates. When you actually like the person you can bump them to weekends. In high school I didn’t really go out during the week so this wasn’t an issue. For the record, I think this rule is ridiculous.

I suspect a part two to this blog in the near future. I think it’s safe to say that I’m learning.

What else do I need to know?! Share below!

Leave a Reply

