Are You Smart Enough To Appreciate Tina Fey’s ‘Bossypants’?

I was… for the most part. I admit that there were times that I knew a joke was being made but I didn’t quite get it. Overall, I really enjoyed the book and recommend it… if you’re a girl. Turns out, Tina Fey is a feminist! I had no idea! Apparently, the comedic world (yes, it is it’s own world) is very sexist. The more I think about it, the more I agree. I have heard countless times people say “I don’t think women comedians are funny.” That is a general statement. I usually say, “What about Ellen?! Or Tina Fey?! Don’t hold Kathy Griffin out on the whole gender!” Besides being funny, Fey definitely made a point that drove home about women in the workforce and I found it empowering.

One of my favorite parts of Bossypants was the chapter about Tina Fey’s honeymoon. They went on a cruise and she recounted the trip to a tee. Anyone who has been on a cruise knows all about the late night shows, the drums playing on deck, and (my favorite) the animal shaped towels that wear your sunglasses. The whole story was funny and relatable.

I also loved the one sentence paragraph about things you do after you’re forty. Apparently, you take your pants off when you get home more. I do that now at age 22 so I can relate (I guess I’m an old soul).

The book was a little biographical since she took us through her career at Second City, SNL, and 30 Rock.  It was really fun learning about her road, the struggles, and the behind the scenes information. There is a lot of name dropping which I love because it makes me feel like I am part of the gang of these cool, funny, famous people.

The one thing I took away from the book, that I mentioned earlier, was the feminism. Besides advocating for women comedians, she was advocating for the working mother. The mother who chooses to hire a nanny and not breast feed and not be “perfect.” I think a lot of working mothers out there really appreciate her honesty.

OH. I almost forgot about the Sarah Palin chapter. That alone was worth it to read.

Have you read Bossypants? If not, pick up a copy!

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

