Book Review: Water For Elephants

I had seen the movie and really liked it so I figured I would probably love the book. I mean, I don’t think there has ever been a movie that was based on a book that was better than the book (if you can think of one, please share below!). It was not a very quick read but I really enjoyed it and here are some of the highlights. Spoiler Alerts!

I love the back and forth from the present to the past. First you are in the nursing home with this cranky old man, and then you are at the circus with this wide-eyed moral vet. It is a nice balance between the two and it keeps you on your toes.

I was surprised how quickly they fall in love! I mean, he INSTANTLY loves her and he doesn’t even really know her. And she risks a lot to be with him considering she doesn’t know him very well either. It all works out in the end because you know he ends up with Marlena, it just seems unrealistic to just know.

This book makes me feel bad for grandpas! You never hear that perspective in books or films. It must be a terrible feeling to grow old, not remember things, not be able to do things that you used to do, etc. I love my grandpa. That is all.

I think it had the perfect ending. The only time he was ever happy was when he was with Marlena and when we was with the circus. Since he can’t have Marlena, then next best thing is to run away with the circus… again!

As a side note, I really loved the character of Walter and was devastated when he died. He risks so much for someone who he barely liked at first. 

Have you read the book/seen the movie? What did you think?

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

