Movie Review: The Muppets Are Back!

It’s time to play the music. It’s time to light the lights. It’s time to write a blog on what I thought of the movie tonight! Okay, that was an easy joke but I thought it was clever! Anyway, if I had to describe the movie in one word it would be, ridiculous… but in a good way! The Muppets revived by Jason Segel was worth the $10 at the movies and provided some good entertainment for 2 hours. Overall, I recommend seeing this film! Here come the spoilers!

Cameos
Gotta love a cameo. Whoopi, Selena, NPH, John Krasinski are only a few of the famous faces that appeared in the movie. The cameos also weren’t in an obnoxious, over the top, “Hey it’s Selena Gomez!” kind of way (if you know what I mean). For the most part they were subtle and exciting to see a familiar face. I almost died of happiness seeing John Krasinksi and Neil Patrick Harris, my two favorite people, sitting next to each other!

Obvious Humor
You have to appreciate the facts that these jokes are very obvious. It is very funny but only if you appreciate that kind of thing. I think it is always funny when characters in a movie suggest a movie montage. And the “taking the map” thing was also very amusing.

The Songs
Eh. Again, the songs were in the spirit of “obvious humor” but I kind of expected better from Jason Segel and Amy Adams, especially after seeing Forgetting Sarah Marshall and Enchanted. Let’s just say, I won’t be buying the soundtrack.

The Muppet Show
I love that this movie focused on the variety show. It makes me want to go back and buy all those old seasons (which is probably their intent). I loved the familiar songs and the familiar faces. Only someone who was a fan of the Muppets as a kid can appreciate this film.

Should you go see it? YES. Why not? Not much else is playing and this movie was definitely a good time!

Have you seen the Muppets yet? Are you planning to? Share in the comments!

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

