Book Review: The Millenium Series

Everyone told me to read this book. I am not an avid reader. I’ve read the Harry Potter books 3 times but have never ventured past that series. I read a lot of stuff I don’t want to read (i.e. LAW) that I don’t normally like to read. However, ever since I got a Kindle, I have been on a reading binge. I now have something to do on my morning commute and I am thrilled. I was able to breeze through the three books in Stieg Larson‘s series and here is my take on the books:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

The first half pretty slow. Seriously, not much going on. HOWEVER, if you could get past 52% on your kindle, you are golden. After Blomvkist, one of the main characters, makes his first discovery everything goes really fast. This book was such an interesting mystery with an unexpected ended. I’m not into murder mystery novels but this one was different. This book will also make a great movie. It was already made a movie in Sweden but the American version is coming out later in the year and I can’t wait. Overall, it left you withe a satisfying ending and you learn to love a character you never even expected to like.

The Girl Who Played With Fire

Remember how I said I felt there was a satisfying ending after the first book? Well, this book was NOT the case. There was no satisfying ending. There was no ending at all. The book ended as if in the middle of a thought. This book really introduced you to the other main character, Salander. There are a lot of character and pieces to fit together in this book but somehow the reader still gets it. You learn all about Salander and her troubled past. Once again, it was a little slow at the beginning with all the math but it picked up much sooner and turned into such an interesting and crazy story. I found myself constantly clicked the next button and my kindle and it kept me wanted to read more with every chapter.

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest

Because of the “cliffhanger” ending we were given in book 2, this book felt just like a continuation. There was no new story, just the unfolding of the story we started in the last book. This wasn’t really book 3, but more like book 2, part 2. As you are reading the book, Larson leaves you with a lot of loose ends. He wants you to be surprised and doesn’t want to give everything away too easily. The problem is, that there are so many loose ends that I was afraid I would lose track. I want to know ALL the answers but if I can’t remember the question, it makes it difficult! Once again there are tons of characters and we are getting introduced to new people up until 88% of the book. Every time Larson invests in a new character I was surprised but excited to learn about someone new. The Teleborian climax will make an excellent movie court room scene and I can’t wait to watch it. All in all, I was left with the ending I wanted to see in book 2 and was very satisfied with the result.

I highly recommend this book to those looking for a new series. The books were a quick read and were really interesting and suspenseful. Read these books and then chat me so we can discuss!

Have you read this series? What did you think? Share your thoughts!

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

