Captain America May Be The First Avenger, But Is He The Best Avenger?

I finally saw Captain America: The First Avenger, the last of the movies leading up to The Avengers coming out in 2012. If I had to rate the film, I would give it three out of five stars. So far we have seen The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man, Thor, and now Captain America. I would say out of all the films leading up to the big 2012 flick, this one was my least favorite and here’s why.

I am willing to put aside the fact that Chris Evans, who plays Captain America, also plays Human Torch in the Fantastic Four bunch. It is beyond me why Marvel couldn’t find any other actor in the world and why one has to play both characters, but that’s besides the point.

Of all the films, I would argue that Iron Man is most relatable. Thor was probably the least relatable since it is more on the fantasy side of comics. Why is it that I related more to Thor than I did to Captain America? Part of the reason I feel this way is because the film was rushed. Captain America is supposed to have single-handedly end World War II. It is hard to portray that in a small movie montage.

Some parts of the film also seemed a but ridiculous. Maybe I’m being cynical, but wouldn’t the Nazi’s notice a soldier running through their base with a giant red, white, and blue shield?! C’mon Captain America, couldn’t we be a little more discrete?! He didn’t even try to hide!

Overall, the movie wasn’t terrible. It was actually pretty good but compared to the other Marvel movies, it didn’t live up to the standard.

Did you see Captain America? What did you think? Are you excited for the Avengers movie? Post your reviews below!

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

