I Am A Sucker For Modern Day Disney Movie Remakes

What can be cornier than a modern-day remake of a Disney flick? Not much, but I seem to be a sucker for them all. First came A Cinderella Story starring Hilary Duff in 2004 and I thought, this must be the worst movie ever. I was wrong and actually ended up really liking it (and seeing it about a hundred times total). Then same Sydney White in 2007, the sorority version of Snow White. Not as good as the Duff film but it wasn’t terrible. Then came Beastly starring Vanessa Hudgens and Alex Pettyfer. While none of these movies will be winning Oscars anytime soon, here’s why they still got at least three stars on my Netflix.

A Cinderella Story
Bravo Hilary Duff, Bravo. Surprisingly, this was a good movie! What makes this movie a modern-day version? Well, for one thing, “Cinderella” works at a diner owned by her evil step-mother and she has friends that are people, not rodents. She also doesn’t loose a glass slipper, but instead a cell phone! How does this girl go without her cell phone for a week? And how does nobody recognize her at the school dance? I’m not sure. But overall, this was a slightly corny, but entertaining version of Cinderella.

Sydney White
I was not as keen on this flick as I was the previous. Was it awful? No. Would I watch it again? Only if there was really nothing else on. What makes this movie modern is the Greek Row twist. The evil queen is a girl from one of the cool sororities. The seven dwarves are seven nerds that Sydney White lives with. If this movie didn’t star Amanda Bynes, I may feel differently, but because she can do no wrong in my eyes, I am saying this movie is acceptable. 

Beastly
At first, I did not love this Beauty and the Beast remake. It is told from the Beast’s point of view and frankly, his story is not as interesting as Belle’s. In fact, the Beast is kind of emo and dramatic all the time. I mean really, there are plenty of ugly people in the world and they don’t hide in an apartment and become home schooled. Some of the cool modern day twists included the plant motif. Instead of the rose dying out, the Beast had a tattoo that changed with the seasons. Also, there were no dancing candlesticks but there was Neil Patrick Harris!!! NPH was easily the best part of this movie and easily saved it from being a total flop.

Am I absolutely ridiculous for indulging in this films? Do you have a soft-spot for Disney remakes too? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

