Why The MTV Movie Awards Is Not An Awards Show

Once upon a time, MTV threw some pretty entertaining award shows. No, they are not the most prestigious and they are not to be taken seriously, but it was always fun to watch. The MTV Movie Awards gave those silly teen movies a chance to walk away with a prize instead of the favorites from the Oscars and Golden Globes. However, over the past few years, the MTV Movie Awards haven’t just gotten bad, they have become unwatchable. There is only one thing to blame… One word: Twilight.

Ever since the Twilight phenomenon, every single award has been given to Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart. I understand that these awards are based on votes from the viewers, but enough is enough. Even Twilight fans can’t deny the fact that Kristen Stewart is the worst actress on the face of the planet. This year I tried my very best to tune into the MTV Movie Awards but every award Twilight was nominated for, I had to change the channel because I knew what was coming.

They won Best Movie. Best Female Performance, Best Kiss, Best Fight, and Best Male Performance. How could they have won Best Kiss? They were up against Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman from Black Swan– where were all the male voters??? I also can’t believe that Joseph Gordon-Levitt‘s floating fight scene from Inception couldn’t beat out the ridiculousness that is Twilight.

As a complete disclaimer, I have seen maybe 30 minutes from one of the Twilight movies so my hatred for the franchise is blind. I just know that is the majority of the 13 year old girls of America love it so much, I’m sure I won’t. Maybe I’m wrong and I’m just a bitter Harry Potter fan. The moral of the story is, I expected more from you MTV… Shame on you.

Did you watch this year’s MTV Movie Awards? If so, what did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me @Caraizzle!

Leave a Reply

